Traffic Court – Correctable (Fix It) Citations
Phone: (415) 444-7180
Email: traffic@marincourt.org
Location: Civic Center, Hall of Justice, Room C-10
Office Hours: 8:00am - 3:00pm


Correctable (Fix It) Citations, Proof of Correction
and Reduced Bail


Proof of Correction and Reduced Bail

The courtesy notice will indicate whether a violation can be resolved by presenting proof of correction and paying a $25 fee for each correctable violation by the due date. This fee is a bail reduction available only to individuals who provide the Court with proof that the underlying violation has been corrected. If such proof is not provided to the Court, the full bail shown on the courtesy notice is due and payable by the due date.

Individuals cited for multiple violations on the same citation, with one or more correctable violations may provide the Court with proof that the violation has been corrected and pay a $25 transaction fee for each correctable violation for processing that portion of the citation only.

If proof of correction is accepted, the transaction fee will be processed and the correctable violation(s) on the citation will be dismissed. The reduced bail amount shown on the courtesy notice reflects the transaction fee and is required, along with other bail payments to clear the remaining violation(s) on the citation.

Acceptable proof of correction consists of certification to the Court on the form provided on the reverse side of the citation, received in the Traffic Clerk's Office by the due date. Violators may also complete a court form by clicking here. Certification must be obtained from an authorized representative of one of the following agencies:

  • Department of Motor Vehicles, California Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies for driver's license and registration violations.
  • California Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies for brake, lamp, smog device and muffler violations.

For insurance violations, individuals may provide proof of correction of their insurance by submitting copies of their policy or insurance card to the Court.

The Court will grant one automatic 30-day extension of time to provide proof of correction, as long as the request for the extension is made by the due date on the courtesy notice. No further extensions will be granted.

Once a violator has paid full bail on a correctable violation, the Court will not refund bail if a violator subsequently submits proof of correction.

Individuals electing to attend traffic violator school for other violations on a citation that includes a correctable violation must register for traffic violator school and pay the full bail or set up a payment plan. If proof of correction has been provided to the Court, the total amount due will be the bail for the traffic violator school-eligible violations plus the $25 transaction fee for each correctable violation. If no proof of correction has been provided, the total amount due will be the full bail on the courtesy notice.

Correctable Citations for Mechanical, Registration, Driver's License or Insurance violations

Below are the options available to individuals cited for correctable violations. For each of these options, proof of correction may be presented to the Court in person or by mail.

  1. Mechanical Violations

    When a mechanical violation is eligible for correction, the courtesy notice will indicate two bail amounts; the higher amount is to be paid if the violator does not correct the underlying mechanical problem and the lower amount is the amount owed if the violator corrects the problem and submits that proof to the Court by the due date on the courtesy notice.

    1. If the individual has corrected mechanical problem, obtain a police officer's signature on the back of the citation and return it to the Court on or before the due date with a $25 proof of correction fee for each violation. These violations will then be dismissed by the Court.

    2. If the individual has not corrected, or cannot correct, the mechanical problem, the full bail is payable by the due date.

  2. Registration Violations

    1. If the registration is current but was not in the vehicle when cited, present the registration, or a copy if by mail, to the Court, along with a $25 proof of correction fee, on or before the due date on the citation or courtesy notice. Then the Court will dismiss the violation.

    2. If the vehicle was not registered at the time of the citation, the registration must be paid at the DMV and the DMV can sign the citation. Present the registration, or a copy if by mail, or the signed citation to the Court, along with a $25 proof of correction fee, on or before the due date on the citation or courtesy notice. Then the Court will dismiss the violation.

  3. Driver's License Violations

    1. If the individual had a valid driver's license but was not carrying it when cited, present the driver's license, or a copy if by mail, to the Court, along with a $25 proof of correction fee, on or before the due date on the citation or courtesy notice. Then the Court will dismiss the violation.

    2. If the individual did not have a driver's license, or the license was expired, the license must be obtained from the DMV and the DMV can sign the citation. Present the license, or a copy if by mail or the signed citation to the Court, along with a $25 proof of correction fee, on or before the due date on the citation or courtesy notice. Then the Court will dismiss the violation. Please note: Individuals who cannot obtain driver's licenses must pay the full amount of the bail on the courtesy notice.

  4. Insurance Violations

    1. If the insurance is current but was not in the vehicle when cited, present the insurance certificate or policy, or copy if by mail, to the Court, along with a $25 proof of correction fee, on or before the due date on the citation or courtesy notice. Proof of insurance must include the effective date, expiration date, policy number, make and description of the vehicle insured. Then the Court will dismiss the violation. Please note that insurance violations cannot be signed off by police officers.

    2. If the vehicle was not insured at the time of the citation, but the violator obtained insurance, the violator may submit proof of insurance to the Traffic Clerk’s Office, or mail proof to the Court, on or before the due date on the courtesy notice to receive a 50% reduction of the bail amount.

    3. If the vehicle was not insured at the time of the citation and the violator has not obtained insurance by the pay or appear date on the courtesy notice, the violator must pay the full bail amount on or before the due date on the courtesy notice.